FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Talk about anything you want in this forum.

Moderator: Matt

By coline
Well, just read this thread and wanted to properly introduce myself as I didn't introduce when I entered the forum, which I normally do.
My name is Marco Acuña (a man, not woman, maybe, lots of people think that because of my username). And as I have said sometimes in the forum I'm a engineer in Biotechnology from Costa Rica, actually working as a lab assistant while I get my second degree at college and attending my carnivorous plant nursery, which I have the link in the signature.
The carnivorous plants are a almost recent topic to me because they're almost inexistent in this country, so that is another reason for having the nursery, to share the plants and knowledge for low cost to a wide public. The main reason there are no nurseries or this plants here in the country is because costarricans are really cheap, and only a select and little group would pay for whatever price you may see on the web for this plants, even more, potting substrate is not available here, except LFS which is stolen by birds during this precise season (as I'm watching them stole some while I write this), and then the missinformation, no one, of the few I got to know that sold the plants once, years ago, told any customer the vital importance of water, the non fertilizing, light nor any other requirements the plants have, so, people placed them as any african violet and would die..