FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By Zilzilii
I am a beginner at caring for Venus Fly Traps. I got a couple of pots of Venus Fly Traps for Christmas. They had not sprouted yet at that time. I kept them in trays of distilled water with artificial plant light (for now).

After about 12 days, at least from what I've counted, the plants began to sprout!

My problem is that they seem to be developing their mouths and staying under the moss.

Here are some pictures. I am not sure what to do. I'm a little worried about the one 'mouth' in the flytrap in the last photo. It is growing a little dark and it is soo tiny.

Should I take most of the moss away? All of it? What should I do?

I circled the 'mouths' that I found with a cyan colored photoshop brush.

Last edited by Zilzilii on Tue Jan 06, 2009 2:07 am, edited 2 times in total.
By Matt
Hello Zilzilii and welcome to flytrapcare!

Yeah you can remove the moss. They don't need to be covered like that. Also, the smallness of the traps is probably due to lack of light. How much light are you giving them and how close are they to the light?
By Zilzilii
I just removed the moss from both pots. One of the pots has at least three fly trap mouths that died and blackened. I think this is mostly because of the moss.

They are getting 6 hours of artificial plant light everyday. It is on a timer. They are also sitting by a window, but there is a sheer, laced curtain. I should probably post new pictures.
By Adam
You want to bump that up to 16 hours of intense light (not TOO close or you'll burn them - check the temp of the surface with your finger - it should only feel warm). It's the closest you'll get to even 4 hours of direct sunlight which is a minimum amount of light they need.

Adam
By Matt