FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Sarracenia, Heliamphora, Darlingtonia, Cephalotus plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By cadorn
If this message turns up a few times, it is because of my efforts to attach a photo. Two tries said the file name was invalid! Anyway, maybe third time will be a charm. I am a novice to raising carnivorous plants, and recently made my first foray into starting from seeds. (Thanks, Leah, for tracking down my order so I know I have Darlingtonia California seeds!) I now have something growing, but I have doubts that they are pitcher plants, although one shoot appears to have the remnants of a seed on the top. To me, they look more like grass or weeds. What do you think? Has the incredible happened, or should I toss? Thanks for your help!
Connie
Attachments:
photo-4.JPG
photo-4.JPG (68.49 KiB) Viewed 4380 times
By DesertPat
It's hard to tell due to the slight blur in the picture...but if I didn't know better I would say that is grass. It looks like they are splitting at the top? something I can't imagine seedling pitcher plants would do. If in doubt, which it sounds like you are, I would just let whatever it is be for now. If it is grass then it will probably die because of the nutrient poor soil that you should be using.
DesertPat liked this
By beckhamlim24
Well, we need a close up picture of the plant. From the picture below, it think it is grass. I am not too sure though so you can only wait and see.
beckhamlim24 liked this
By Tony C
Those don't look like Darlingtonia sprouts, too thin and typically the seed coat would still be attached to one of the seed leaves at that point in their growth.
By cadorn
Sigh. I was afraid of that! I probably will toss. But it was worth a try doing the seeds, agreed? Thanks for everyone's input!
By Tony C
How long has it been since sowing the seed? And did you bury it or scatter it on top of the soil?
By cadorn