FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss water requirements, "soil" (growing media) and suitable planting containers

Moderator: Matt

By Emmaaa
Hi! I'm fairly new to the VFT community. In January, someone gave me that 'death box' (bug biting plants) from Lowe's where you have a dormant VFT and a Sarracenia. The Cenia survived (barely) but the VFT didn't. Around the same time, I got 2 bottles of the VFT on Amazon, the ones where they are self-contained and have a gel that'll help them grow. There was a bit about them growing tall (with little light) and bushy (lots of light) so I experimented with that.

I noticed the taller one had some yellow heads and is definitely outgrowing the bottle. The bushier one is on its way to outgrowing the bottle too. I got some new pots (+soil) to plant them in and I'm expecting them in them in the mail soon.

My question is, what kind of bottled water brands are safe for them? I live in central florida, and my go-to grocery places are Aldi's, Costco, and Publix. We mainly have Kirkland purified water, which I thought was fine because it said that it was processed through RO, then I saw that it had added minerals. It's probably why the VFT I had with Cenia died. I'm not willing to get a TDS meter yet, so I was hoping to get some recommendations for specific bottled water brands to purchase.

I was also planning on just growing them indoors. I know this is a hard no-no but I didn't want them in the backyard since there's an automatic sprinkler and a lot of squirrels. I got grow lights for them because I was worried that they weren't getting enough sun. I think my room is on the south facing side (I mainly get sun around 1p to possibly 6 or 7p) and I think this isn't enough as I read that VFT's thrive in full sunlight. I plan on having it turned on from 6a - 12p everyday. Would this be enough for them?