FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By vimetus
Hello, I'm not experienced flytrap owner.

My plant's leaves are fully green. I've seen, that they should be red inside.

Also, traps are not stay up at all - they lie down as soon as they start to grow.
They even curl backward when go outside of the pot. But still working - eating animals.

Is it normal? Or, I guess, is it lack of sunlight?
It's a trap
It's a trap
2018-06-02 15.09.57.jpg (1.68 MiB) Viewed 2945 times
By Jagasian
Another visual indication that your plant is starved for light is the fact that most of the growth is on the window-side of the plant.
By vimetus
Jagasian wrote:Another visual indication that your plant is starved for light is the fact that most of the growth is on the window-side of the plant.
Thank you for reply.

I've moved it to another window in another place. It's an eastern one - hope it will help.
If it will not be enough, is it better to just setup artificial light?
By tommyr
vimetus wrote:Hello, I'm not experienced flytrap owner.

My plant's leaves are fully green. I've seen, that they should be red inside.

Also, traps are not stay up at all - they lie down as soon as they start to grow.
They even curl backward when go outside of the pot. But still working - eating animals.

Is it normal? Or, I guess, is it lack of sunlight?
2018-06-02 15.09.57.jpg
Venus Flytraps are not houseplants. Some people grow them indoors but they don't last long indoors. They need 6+ hours of direct Sun a day and indoor Sun isn't as strong as outdoor.
By penatrap
Put it outside. If you want to grow it indoors then you can try some artificial lighting - I’m not experienced with that so maybe someone else can help. The easiest way is to put it outside - windowsills just won’t cut it. VFTs are not indoor plants and should not be treated like an indoor plant.
By vimetus