FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Talk about anything you want in this forum.

Moderator: Matt

By Greenthumbs Garden
Im trying to find info online and finding it hard to get a answer. basically ive always been told that you only need a permit for plants and seed was ok, though the years I've bought lots of seed from the US without any problems, but today someone on a CP community on face book, when i asked to buy some seed from him said it was illegally, and ive been buying seed illegally?¿ Is this true or is it basically BS and he has no clue what hes talking about?
By Greenthumbs Garden
we have not issues on our end, the guy on fb was saying it was illegal to send them from the US, and basically I'vs been buying illegally.
By Smooter80
If you have done your research on government web sites and it's legal for you to receive them, buy away.

I'm not a legal expert but I have personally dealt with non-CP related phytosanitary inspections, sending/receiving wood and plant material for 15 years. Some countries required a phytosanitary to receive the products and others did not. A phytosanitary was not required to send the shipments but if the destination country required it, it as aquired. We are talking about 40'-53' shipping containers full, not a package of seeds that slip through customs. I would send the product and often travel to the destination country to receive it.

With legal issues is always best to verify for yourself. Just because others are doing something and tell you it's fine does not mean it is.

I very rarely ship seeds overseas just because of the hassle of figuring cost and such. Paypal is very much bias against sellers and tracking is not always available for a reasonable price.
By boarderlib
I've personally sent seeds to Canada. I had to fill out an export paper on what the envelope contained. Pay an extra dollar, and about a week later the person received their seeds.