FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss fertilization techniques here. For advanced growers only!

Moderator: Matt

By murrkywaters
I've recently pulled the trigger on picking up some maxsea, and have been trying to do some quick calculations on what the reading should be in ppm. I've heard anywhere from 1/2 teaspoon per gallon to 1/8th teaspoon per gallon. The approximate volume in the good measuring system would be between 2.5 ml into 4 L to 0.625 ml into 4 L. Ranging between .0625% ~ .0156%. 625 ppm seems really high, but I've got zero experience with using it. 156 ppm still sounds high but it's closer to what I'd expect. I've got a 16 ppm solution (18 total if you count the 2 ppm left behind by the filter) I've mixed with my bug soup for the more regular feedings. Is this acceptable? I've done a foliar feed on the sansevieria as well with maxsea last I put the pepper on the leaves. They seem to be responding to a 50 ppm dose, which surprises me and makes me think I'm getting placebo by proxy. Carnivores are far more sensitive, so 50 ppm or > 1/24th of a teaspoon per gallon feels correct for heavier feedings. Any thoughts? I've got a super concentrated solution with a known conductivity I can measure with a 1ml syringe for fairly accurate measurements. Attached is the new growth tip after 3 days.Image

Sent from my SM-G892U using Tapatalk

By twitcher
PPM just gives me a headache. I've been advocating using a TDS meter with MAXsea. Measure the water before adding the MAXsea. Add the maxsea, measure the TDS again and subtract the TDS of the water. This gives the TDS amount for just the added maxsea.