FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Nepenthes plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By optique
I have been avoiding taking my Sanguinea Orange outside because it has 3 vines 5+ feet. Today i gave it a trim and i just put the cutting in 1020 trays of spag i am saving for shipping CP's.

Will this work? I do have one node under the moss.

Lost my shade tree so built this 10x3 table last week.
Supercazzola liked this
By camsdad66
Hi optique,
I'm no expert, but I would say the cuttings look pretty good, just watch the direct sunlight, don't want to burn them while they are trying to establish themselves. Also keep them damp, of course. If they dry out, they probably won't make it.. More than likely some will strike. Best of luck! Keep us updated!

Sent from my SM-A505U using Tapatalk

optique, Supercazzola liked this
By DragonsEye
One buried node should be fine, two is often better as it give you an additional spot for root formation. Now as for the rest .....

1) I would cut off 1/2 of each leaf. This reduces transpiration (water loss through the stomata of the leaves) which can be important since you don't have any roots to uptake water.

2) I would tent/surround the tray(s) with plastic. Unless you have very high humidity (and I have no idea if you do this early in the season), you want to keep them in high humidity to reduce transpiration until roots have formed. You can leave the top of the tent partially open so excess heat can escape.

3) Especially if you do "tent" them, the moss should be damp/lightly moist not sopping wet. (Not saying you have it really wet as there is really no way for me to tell from the photo, but just a "heads up".)

NOTE: This is simply advice based on my personal experience. As with any advice, your mileage may vary.