FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Nepenthes plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By felinefancier87
Hi Everyone,

Sorry again for so many posts about N. bicalcarata--I'm still learning how this plant works and hoping to make some kind of future plan when it outgrows my terrarium.

I've been told that it's possible to acclimate this plant to indoor conditions. Has anyone tried this and has success stories? If so, how did you accomplish this (details, please!), at what plant size did you start doing this (height, or plant diameter), and how are you meeting its light and humidity needs (or is it tolerating typical indoor humidity??). Is it still sun-sensitive? (I nearly killed my newly-received plant in the first 24 hours by putting it on a sunny windowsill).

I'd love to hear your stories, good and bad, but especially if you've had success with it. How has your plant changed after doing this? Would you recommend trying it? Is it hard to do?
By Camden
felinefancier87 wrote: Fri Jun 17, 2022 9:51 pm They're interesting videos but maybe I missed where he tells you how to acclimate the plants? The videos show how well the plants are doing, but I was hoping for some instructions.
Well a simple method would be to put it into a plastic bag and slowly opening it until it it’s completely open, then wait like 2-3 day, then open it completely. Another way is to just stick it into its new environment although that’s kinda risky; taking the chance that it might not and just be stunted and possibly death! (Whoo! That’s a mouthful!)
By DragonsEye
felinefancier87 wrote: Fri Jun 17, 2022 1:44 amI've been told that it's possible to acclimate this plant to indoor conditions.