FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Share photos of your Venus Fly Traps here.

Moderator: Matt

By Leeken123
Hi. My plant is in very bad shape and I'm hoping by posting a picture and answering some questions maybe I can get an answer on how to salvage the plant. I am a complete amateur and I want to learn. I feel sorry for my plant.

Conditions:
Leaves are browning, remaining trap nonfunctional, one new leaf but trap is hardly developed. Soil kept moist.
Attachments:
43591474_105605690381947_1401859295141691392_n.jpg
43591474_105605690381947_1401859295141691392_n.jpg (271.5 KiB) Viewed 3927 times
By Shadowtski
Fly Traps need 3 things to survive and 4 things to thrive, long term.

1) Lotsa, Lotsa, Lotsa light.
They need the closest to full sunlight you can give them.

2) They need VERY pure water with a TDS of 50 ppm or less. Dissolved minerals in city water will build up in the soil and kill them.

3) They need an acidic growing medium with little or no nutrients. Peat mixes, Sphagnum mixes, with no added fertilizer are usually used.

4) Winter Dormancy is needed to keep your Fly Traps heakthy long term.

Matt, the Forum Admin has posted sone care and feeding pages. Check out http://www.flytrapcare.com

If you follow these rules and Matt's information, your plant should recover and become healthy, getting larger every year.

Good growing,
Mike
Shadowtski liked this
By Fieldofscreams
Shadow nailed it.

I must add that VFT's do not like their soil wet, just moist. Looking at your pics I can tell that you are keeping it extremely wet, far far too wet.
By Amount_Paid
I would say that you are overwatering your VFT and try to give it more light, just let the soil dry to the point where barely damp and then water again. Also make sure your using soil that has no added minerals and only use Distilled water or Rain Water. You can also use Reverse Osmosis Water But just don’t use Tap Water, EVER!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk