FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Avery579
Hello everyone,

My name is Matt and I am new to growing VFTs. I ordered my plant from the FlyTrapStore and it looked pretty good. Now, there is only one stalk with a trap on it. All the others died off, so I cut them off as close to the soil as possible. It came pre-potted from FTS, so whatever soil mixture they use is what it has. I water it with distilled water when the top gets dry, which varies on how warm/windy it is outside. It gets at least 5 hours of sunlight a day if not more. I usually keep it outside. Any ideas on what is going on? Any assistance is very appreciated.

By Matt
Hard to say at this point since all of the leaves have been removed, so any evidence of what might be ailing the plant is gone.

The last remaining leaf doesn't give any clues that I can discern.

The moss moisture level looks correct. If you have it outside and are watering with distilled water, that all sounds good.

Sometimes plants stall after sending out a flower stalk, and that could be what's happening here. It doesn't look like it's struggling in any noticeable way, judging by the single remaining leaf.

Give it some more time and continue to give it good care, and it should start putting out new traps soon.
Matt liked this
By Avery579
Alright. Thanks Matt for the information. Yeah I removed the other ones cause they were all black and dying (might have been cause it went into dormancy). I have seen where it is good to remove the dead ones completely, just the trap, or leave it.
By Matt
Avery579 wrote:I have seen where it is good to remove the dead ones completely, just the trap, or leave it.
When growing in proper conditions, there is no risk to leave dead or dying traps on the plant. And, in fact, there can be benefit in doing so as the plant can reclaim nutrients and minerals traps as the leaf dies.