FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss any carnivorous plant that doesn't fit in the above categories here or general chat about carnivorous plants

Moderator: Matt

By Leathal_Traps
Anyone have any information on growing this plant? Searched everywhere and found almost no information on it.
By Leathal_Traps
SerMuncherIV wrote:I'm no expert on Utricularia, but I'd treat it like the standard North American terrestrial/semi-aquatic (similar to U. subulata, U. minor, U. gibba, U. juncea, etc.).
Which would be....? Sorry but I know little about utrics. Only one I've grown so far is sandersonnii which is practically impossible to kill. Since you mentioned utricularia juncea and I searched it up, I am now unsure whether my plant is a cornuta or a juncea. Looked at pics of the flowers and they are almost identical. Will post a pic so hopefully someone can identify it, I got the plant from a friend which is why I am unsure of the species.
By SerMuncherIV
I'm not good with Utricularia either, so I can't help with identification...basically, you'll want to keep the plant in an undrained container in a peat based mix with the water level around the soil line (it can fluctuate, which will actually mimic the plant's natural habitat). As usual, full sun will be appreciated. During the growing season, keeping it with your U. sandersonii might be fine. During winter, these plants are accustomed to dormancy very similar to the dormancy that you would give Sarracenia and Dionaea. My North American Utricularia seem to freeze solid every year, and they always bounce back. They can be grown without dormancy, but they'll be less likely to flower without their seasonal cues (except for annoying U. subulata which always produces those unsightly cleistogamous flowers).
By iamjacksplants