FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Pinguicula care here

Moderator: Matt

By alanshemper
Hi all! I'm brand new to butterworts so I apologize for what are probably silly questions. I was gifted a butterwort yesterday and have been trying to do a little research to see if I'm taking care of it correctly. I'm not sure what specific type I have, but it's currently in a mix of 1 part peat to 2 parts perlite and vermiculite (50/50 ratio) and sitting in a pot that's placed in a saucer with RO water (about 1-2cm). I currently have it placed with my plants downstairs since there are more gnats, which are under a 24hr 315 LEC Sun System (75 degrees F and currently between 40-50% average humidity), however after researching the google I'm not sure if this will cause harm to my plant to be under 24hr lighting or if I should place it upstairs as I have a cactus on 18/6hr lighting under a full spectrum LED (average 69-70 degrees F and currently around 45% humidity).

This is my first dive into the world of CP's and I definitely don't want to mess it up! I'll attach a few photos to show the little dude and environment set-up. Any help is much appreciated!
20181104_180425.jpg
20181104_180425.jpg (3.47 MiB) Viewed 3014 times
20181104_180458.jpg
20181104_180458.jpg (2.05 MiB) Viewed 3014 times
By Bob Beer
You describe a medium of more perlite and vermiculite than peat, but I don’t see any perlite or vermiculite there.