FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By Cara Aliberti
Hi, I am Cara. I am from Pittsburgh, PA and I am new to the flytrap scene. I just bought a Venus Flytrap yesterday and repotted it today! I have always wanted one since I was young and recently I started researching how to take care of Venus Flytraps. I feel like I know what to do for the most part but all the help I can get helps. If anyone wants to give me more tips that would be great!
By Intheswamp
Tips?
No fertilizer. That includes most any Miracle-Gro product.
A basic 50:50 grow mix of peat and perlite is "the standard" medium (if there is one :) ).
Keep plant media damp, not wet.
Mineral-free water. Rainwater, distilled water, reverse osmosis (RO) water, *some* drinking water (Our local Acquafina is fine but Dansani is bad).
Direct, full sun...once they're acclimated.
Plastic pots.
They need a dormancy period in the winter.
Flower stalks zap a lot of energy and strength from the plants. Lots of people snip them off at an inch or two and propagate new plants from the stalks.
Don't stick your finger in a trap, they leave a nasty scar. :mrgreen:
Have fun.

That's about all I got. I'm no flytrap expert, but thought I'd make a stab at "tips".
Welcome to the forum and be sure to check out the seed bank! ;)
Panman liked this
By Panman
Welcome to the forum. One tendency of new flytrap owners is to move them in and out of the house to protect them or give them more light. This does more harm than good. Find a good spot outdoors to grow it, and let it grow.
By Cara Aliberti
Intheswamp wrote: Fri Aug 11, 2023 12:21 pm Tips?
No fertilizer. That includes most any Miracle-Gro product.
A basic 50:50 grow mix of peat and perlite is "the standard" medium (if there is one :) ).
Keep plant media damp, not wet.