FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By mudtrk91
So, this is my first year growing VFT's. I picked up a few from Walmart this summer, and they have recovered greatly from their poor conditions. However, now that we're getting into winter months I need to figure out dormancy. I'm in zone 5, so it gets pretty darn cold. I brought them indoors a couple weeks ago due to a huge temperature shift. It went from 80F high and 60F low all the way to 40-50F high and 25F low in just two days!! I brought them in under artificial light to prevent killing them from such a temperature shock. We get sustained 20's high and -3 to -10 lows during the winter (usually lasts the whole month of January and some of February) with some random 40-50 degree rainy days mixed in. Right now the temperatures are slowly climbing back up and will probably be in the 70's soon. These kind of crazy temp shifts happen a lot here.

Now my question is how do I get them dormant and keep them that way indoors?

I've heard that refrigerator dormancy (and other such cold dormancies) are not the best for them since they like to photosynthesize over winter to store energy for spring. I cant burry the pots in the ground as others do because the ground gets water logged and frozen solid over the winter.
Will light induced dormancy work with a temperature of about 65 at night and 70's day?
Right now they are under a 1000 watt LED grow light. I can slowly start moving them away from that light to a lower (maybe 50W?) light and the cooler area.
Any suggestions?
Also worth noting: I have experience with tropical sundews (indoor grown). This is my first temperate plant.
By Fieldofscreams
Im in zone 5a/b so I have the same weather but mine are still outside, I wont be bringing them inside my garage until mid November.