FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By skylahaily
Okay so I'm new at this whole growing carnivorous plants thing, and I've read up on how to grow VFT's from seed. I know I could have just bought an older one, but I will most likely do that a little later. I ordered live sphagnum and have also bought some poor nutrient soil and dried sphagnum for a growing medium. I put the soil and dried sphagnum on the bottom, and moistened it extremely well, and chopped 2mm size pieces of live sphagnum on the top. I then placed my seeds on top of the living sphagnum and sprinkled just a tiny bit of dried sphagnum on the top. I sprayed it just a tiny bit, careful not to wash away the seeds. They're in humidity of around 80% and temperature ranges from 80-85 degrees. I have a fluorescent lamp above my terrarium, but I put a thin cloth over the top, because I read that they're not to have direct sunlight. Am I doing this right? Any suggestions? Thanks!
By akinkysnorlax
Make sure you keep the sphagnum moss moist at all times. Usually you are supposed to scatter them on top of the moss without putting anything else on top of the seeds. Instead of that cloth over the top I recommend saran rap with some holes in it to allow some airflow without losing a lot of the humidity. I think you should place it the container with seeds underneath your fluorescent where it can get light without the high heat. Direct sunlight can really raise the temperature around the seeds especially with little airflow, which may disrupt seed germination. Besides some minor things that mentioned above I think you are good to go! Just know to make sure the seeds are always in a moist media. The top of the container dries out the fastest which is the part you actually want to make moist all the time. The seedlings will have very small root systems that barely grow into the deeper moss.