FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By John S
Hey everyone. I've been a member of this forum for about a month now and I just wanted to ask a question that I've been wondering about for quite some time now. I'm actually a college student (majoring in integrative biology with a concentration in plant bio) and I've started the long search for graduate schools. I don't know exactly what part of plant bio I want to dive into, but I was wondering if anyone knew about any university research going on involving venus fly traps. I like plant bio involving biofuel crops and stuff like that, but I'm just trying to keep an open mind. I'm just curious as to what research is going on currently and where it is taking place. If anyone has any helpful hints, they would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
By Shimizoki
Sorry mate, I didn't respond before because I don't have the slightest idea... I'm sure others did the same thing. I wish you luck in finding that school.
By John S
Ya that's what I figured. It seems pretty hard to find info on this kind of thing but thanks Shimizoki!
By Jaws
Tried a quick google for you, but couldnt produce anything.
By Steve_D
John, you might ask this question at the International Carnivorous Plant Society's own forum. Some members of the ICPS are more directly involved with academics or have careers in an academic environment. The ICPS in general tends to be more scholarly, at least judging by their Carnivorous Plant Newsletter.

International Carnivorous Plant Society Forum
http://icps.proboards.com/index.cgi?
Steve_D, Steve_D liked this
By BradR