FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Pinguicula care here

Moderator: Matt

By dragon-spotter
Hello everyone,
I'm new to both this forum and to carnivorous plants in general.
I have recently purchased this Pinguicula gigantea on ebay and it arrived in great condition, as pictured here:
Now, only 2 days later it has wilted dramatically, as pictured here:
I have kept the substrate (organic peat and sand 70/30 mix) moist, and it has been under a grow lamp throughout the day. As of yesterday evening and today I have been setting out in part sun for a few hours each day to no avail.
I understand some butterworts can survive a die-back, but I am unfamiliar whether tropical species like gigantea can survive it. I have a P. primuliflora that experienced a slight decay of old foliage upon arrival, but the new growth looks green and healthy so I chalk that up to shipping stress. The gigantea is in much worse condition than the primuliflora, despite being kept under similar conditions.

If anyone has any advice to promoting the plant's well being I would very much appreciate it!
By twitcher
I have killed several gigantea. They do not handle change well. I would not keep moving it in and out of the house. Give it stable, good conditions and you might just get lucky. Bright light, even moisture and drier as sanguineea suggests.
dragon-spotter liked this
By dragon-spotter
Alright guys, I'm gonna move it outside and keep it there per your suggestion. Thank you for the input!
By Bob Beer
I wouldn’t put it outside now; that’s just more stress. An east window is plenty of light

Also, it’s not a bog plant in any way, and you have it in a heavy bog type substrate. I’d go with about 75% turface or perlite, 24% peat. Actually I use 25% cactus and succulent soil. It’s got some lime in it, which they like. One person I know is growing mexican pings in pure perlite. The goal is some water retention along with air circulation.