FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By zoliky
Hello, I've been using 4x20watt 6500K LED tubes for a few months now. I noticed that my sundews doesn't do well when the lights are too close to the pots. Initially I placed the lights 2 inches from the pots because they doesn't produce any heat.
The sundews turned red in a couple of weeks but growth stopped completely. I thought the lights weren't strong enough, so I decided to add two more tubes, but the same issue.

I waited for about two months, the plants looked okay, but no more growth. Even worse my Alicia seedlings almost two months after germination were blood red with only 2 leaves. They froze in time.

Finally when I decided to lift the tubes to about 4" inches, my sundews not just resumed growth but also started flowering. I'm wondering if anyone experienced something simmilar.

I always wanted the highest lumens per square foot and followed Barry Rice's website taking light readings with my DSLR camera, so I can obtain the highest shutter speeds possible. I got a shutter speed reading of about 1/400 on my camera when the lights were 2 inches from the pots (probably about 2000+ lumens per square foot), but to be honest I don't care about these values anymore, my sundews seem to do even better at lower lumens per square foot. I'm wondering if I should lift the lights even more to about 6".
a.jpg
a.jpg (85.11 KiB) Viewed 3523 times
Last edited by zoliky on Tue Dec 20, 2016 10:08 am, edited 3 times in total.
By zoliky
Yes, I feed all the mature plants with blood worms. Once at two weeks. They had drops and beautiful coloration but stopped growing completely for months when the lights were too close.