FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By BugZix
Hello everyone, it's my first time posting here and I have a pest problem with my venus flytrap.I was noticing small browning dots on my otherwise extremely healthy flytrap(fully red leaves, good and healthy growth) and when I looked close I found tiny barely visible red bugs that I recognized as red spider mites. The fly trap is in a 15 inch pot and covers the whole surface so there are multiple plants in it probably. I repotted it 3 months ago when I bought it and it looked awful.I had it around my sarracenia and other fly trap but I quarantined it for now and the others seem okay.But im really struggling with finding a solution to my problem.I live in Greece and there are not many options. I had to order soil from Italy and I can't find any of the brands that people usually recommend. I also don't know if I can trust the local products I find. I saw neem oil as a solution but then again it's not very effective. Another person recommended submerging the plant in water/neem mix and that will take care of the problem but another person said that I will have to repot afterwards and with dormancy coming up and the recent repotting I dont want to stress it out... I spray it twice a day since I saw that that helps. I'm kinda helpless and I really put so much care in my plants and don't want them to die... Any help would be appreciated
Attachments:
The flytrap(the photo is very recent
The flytrap(the photo is very recent
IMG_20231027_154549.jpg (3.78 MiB) Viewed 1625 times
By ChefDean
Neem, in my opinion, is next to worthless. Submerge the plant completely in just water, making sure no air bubbles are trapped that the critters can use for scuba. Leave it there for a few days, let it sit out of the water for a few days, then repeat.
That should take care of it, but monitor it just in case.
andynorth liked this