FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss all micropropagation related topics here.

Moderator: Matt

By goldslinger
You are talking about putting VFT flower stalks and leaf sections in vitro, right? If so, then Kinetin is a good idea. How concentrated is it?
By tejan24
hi goldslinger,
yes VFTs, its 1ml/1L, is this ok. Im really new to tissue culture and i got a kit a few weeks ago.

i also have a crosstooth seedling (i was able to steralize it) so its also in kinetin is this ok?
By hackerberry
Hi tejan24,

I would use 2ml/L of kinetin.

hb
By hackerberry
Kinetin is actually for cell division and shoot proliferation. You can even use it as foliar spray. So yes, you can use it.

hb
By tejan24
thank you hb for the info,
i have this little guy in here for one week with 1ml/1L kinetin. or should i have used no hormones on this crosstooth.
Attachments:
IMG_0521.JPG
IMG_0521.JPG (462.89 KiB) Viewed 5260 times
By hackerberry
Wow, still looking great. Your concentration should be fine. It's just that I see your have too much Agar in the medium. What was your sterilization protocol for this little guy?

hb
By tejan24
I used 1ml kinetin, 1ml PPA, 2Tbsp sugar, and 9g of agar. I used one-liter %50 ms
hb are you asking how much agar because of the color of the media? If so its because I used a few drops of blue food coloring.
here is a dingley giant.
here is a dingley giant.
IMG_0522.JPG (631.39 KiB) Viewed 5241 times

For my sterilization protocol.
I took off all visible black on the plant including the rhizome.
Rinse the plant for 5-min (running tap water)
The used the PAA mix http://www.flytrapcare.com/phpBB3/paa-i ... t4131.html for 3 min
Then put it in the media, with no rinse.
By goldslinger
That's looking good so far!
How long has He been sitting in the media?

PAA sterilization is still very experimental, but like You, I did the exact same thing and I have more than one seedling doing good using this protocol.