FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By +DieFlyDie+
Hey all! Im new to this whole carnivorous plants world... ever since I was a kid I’ve been fascinated by them, particularly the venus fly trap. I recently bought two of them (because I thought I’d inevitably kill one), and to my surprise, I somehow got them through (read: avoided killing) the summer! Not only that, they've been thriving. However, I never thought about what I was supposed to do with them over the winter. I live in Colorado, and I've already left them out overnight in freezing (hard freezing) temps (accidentally)... what can i do to maximize their chances of survival? How should i keep them over the winter? Do they need to stay wet while dormant or can they dry out? What does “dormant” look like... do all the leaves turn black and fall off, leaving a bare pot of soil (I read somewhere that one should pluck the dead black leaves off the plant)? Do they still need sunlight in the winter? Right now they are still planted in the bog soil plugs they came to me in, and those plugs are surrounded by sphagnum moss in small pots. How and when do I replant them so that they can grow even bigger next year, assuming that they survive the frost I've inadvertently subjected them to? Can the roots spread out into the sphagnum moss, or do they need actual bog soil? Also, forest fires have been ravaging the state, and the largest one in state history has been sending ash and smoke plumes up since mid August... that ash has been peppering my plants since then, and I've been worrying about what effect that may have on them, knowing that they are very good at soaking up anything given to them (as is necessary in their somewhat nutrient-void home environments)... could this cause them any harm? Thanks in advance for taking the time to help!! I seriously appreciate it!! I was perusing existing posts but had so man