FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss water requirements, "soil" (growing media) and suitable planting containers

Moderator: Matt

By Antiguy1994
I am new to venus flytraps and wondering what is the best pot for and adult venus flytrap? I bought one off Amazon linked below and been looking for a great plastic plant pot with drainage holes that arent those self watering ones that take so much effort to take off and put back on the bottom tray.

I bought one from target linked below and some peat moss and perlite mix but I feel the pot sucks the more I think about it. I am having it indoors I know the overall basics to taking care of it but just need good pot ideas.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00Q1UH0UG/re ... MEb1ERGZT8

https://www.target.com/p/8-self-waterin ... lsrc=aw.ds
By Benny
Self watering pots do not provide enough water for CPs.

I recently upgraded all my flytraps to this: https://www.amazon.com/Hefty-Party-Plas ... lp_pl_dp_1

Now my flytraps are ready to "party on"!

If you want one more disguised, and doesn't stand out, then I would either look into the FlytrapStore pots, or just browse amazon. The pot you have is OK because the plant isn't that developed and large, but you will want an upgrade in the next couple months (I got the same plant).
By Antiguy1994
I ideally want a thick plastic plant pot that has drainage holes but a drain pan or saucer included. The issue is I can't seem to find a plastic version of this that isn't a self watering one. They all seem to be clay or ceramic. I don't want a thin plastic cup or styrofoam because I got a cat and he knock that crap over. Like to put my venus flytraps pot on top of my fridge instead of the stuff currently on it in the picture below and have the blinds opened to give it sunlight. Look at this little crap on the counter.
Attachments:
15872596819554287985908386916410.jpg
15872596819554287985908386916410.jpg (1.81 MiB) Viewed 7269 times
By Matt