FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Gormur
Hello there, my first post here :mrgreen:

I wanted to get a second opinion on something. If the VFT is standing or erect (I'm new to this obviously) once put into the soil, does that actually mean that it's placed properly in the media? Just to add this is my first VFT to plant and it's in a 6.5" self-water with sand on bottom and LFS above that, wrapped around the VFT.

Thanks a lot,

G
By Shadowtski
Welcome to the Forum!
Matt, the Admin, has posted How-To pages here: www.flytrapcare.com

I plant mine so the White part of the rhizome is buried and the Green new growth is at surface level.
Exact depth is not critical because the plant will level itself, eventually.

But I'm a Drosera guy, so this is just my 02¢ worth.

Good growing,
Mike
By Gormur
Thanks. My real wonder was whether standing - and one trap began opening as i watered in rain, which scared me. Ha! - straight up meant it was reaching for air. I guess maybe it's just breathing. I was thinking of adding some top off but it's probably okay

G
By Matt
Welcome to FlytrapCare! As Mike mentioned, flytraps should be potted with the soil level is even with the top of the white bulb (or rhizome) and the green leaves and traps are above the soil.

It's hard to fully grasp what is going on in your case without a photo. Can you share one so we can offer more feedback?
By Gormur
Thank you Matt,

Well the problem resolved itself as we've had a cold spell here (Nashville, Tennessee), so I can see I did it well - the wind is scary :lol: Anyway, I had issues with retrieving photos I took but I promise to fix it next time around.

Thanks for your patience,

G
By ChefDean
Gormur wrote:Thank you Matt,