FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By ExTek
Hey everyone! I'm pretty new to flytraps and carnivorous plants in general. I made a post a few months ago about my flytraps and I have since gotten more, and also acclimated them to be outside rather than indoors under a grow light.

Right now in Virginia, it's been pretty hot. I have kept the pots in bowls of water just so they don't dry out too much. I also have used Scott's DiseaseEX a few times to see if it would boost any growth.

I have noticed within the past week that a lot of them are starting to blacken, but I've also noticed a few new smaller ones coming in.
Additionally, I have made a swing at pitcher plants, although I'm sure they are not doing too well. I saw tiny bugs on them earlier, what pesticides would you guys suggest?

Any criticism is welcome, I really want these to grow!
Attachments:
My pitcher... only 1 of the 3 heads are alive.
My pitcher... only 1 of the 3 heads are alive.
image0 (4).jpg (2.99 MiB) Viewed 2195 times
image0 (3).jpg
image0 (3).jpg (2.15 MiB) Viewed 2195 times
image0 (2).jpg
image0 (2).jpg (2.47 MiB) Viewed 2195 times
image0 (1).jpg
image0 (1).jpg (3.08 MiB) Viewed 2195 times
By optique
Only criticism I can think of is that black pot and trey, I bet you could boil a egg in that water on a clear day. But is going too start cooling off soon worry about it next year.
By ExTek
That's a very valid point, I didn't think about that. When I first got them, I was intending to keep them indoors only. But I have seen a massive boost in growth when I put them outside but didn't think about the pot. Thanks for the advice! I will definitely get one soon.
By Ping