FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By AndyTheTaco
I live in Puerto Rico (Tropical) and is there any SAFE way to put my VFT dormant? I think the lower here at day is the 70s and at night 60s in December,January,February and are the rainiest, I just read this (picture)Image

Sent from my LG-K530 using Tapatalk
By tommyr
For VFTs, I drain off excess water from the pots, hit them with a sulphur based fungicide and place in zip lock bags and pop them in the fridge for 3-4 months. I occasionally check them (once a month) for fungus and hit with the fungicide if needed. Late winter around February/March I take them out hit them with sulphur based fungicide again and place in a south and west window until night time temps. regularly stay above freezing then slowly acclimate them to full outdoor Sun. I've been using this method for almost 10 years with no losses.
By AndyTheTaco
YaronR wrote:Is there am area in your house with cooler temperatures?
Can you cool a terrarium using a swamp cooler or A/C?

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
Yes but not know :/ I don't have power thanks to the hurricane

By AndyTheTaco
tommyr wrote:For VFTs, I drain off excess water from the pots, hit them with a sulphur based fungicide and place in zip lock bags and pop them in the fridge for 3-4 months. I occasionally check them (once a month) for fungus and hit with the fungicide if needed. Late winter around February/March I take them out hit them with sulphur based fungicide again and place in a south and west window until night time temps. regularly stay above freezing then slowly acclimate them to full outdoor Sun. I've been using this method for almost 10 years with no losses.
Thanks! I just need power to get this all done I think ill skip this year, and I've never done it so I need to see other peoples ideas too

By YaronR
AndyTheTaco wrote: