FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By StSh
This has been a problem. I've probably been taking care of my VFT's well, even though I'm still a bit of a newbie to them. I used to have two- which one has propagated a littler one. But... Now rotting. 1 of my VFT has died in my worried attempts to try stop this weird rotting. I'm not sure what causes it. Or how to stop it. I've just noticed that my other adult one has started this too, a few weeks after it started to flower.

(Tissue is on the dirt so you can see the rotting better. Blurry because there wasn't really enough lighting.)

How do you stop it? How does it happen?
By KategoricalKarnivore
Did you dig this plant up for the picture or is it planted like that? Because if it's like that the plant should be deeper in the soil. I'm no expert but I would say everything below the black line I drew should be below the soil.
Attachments:
IMG_3547.JPG
IMG_3547.JPG (231.19 KiB) Viewed 2426 times
By StSh
KategoricalKarnivore wrote:Did you dig this plant up for the picture or is it planted like that? Because if it's like that the plant should be deeper in the soil. I'm no expert but I would say everything below the black line I drew should be below the soil.
I pulled away the peat when I discovered it, thank you for asking that though.
By KategoricalKarnivore
Ok that's good. If you could give more details on your growing conditions it may help the diagnosis. Temps, watering schedule, grown inside or outside, your location, etc... And also maybe a picture of the entire plant. The leaves may give some indication of the problem.
By StSh