FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By MagicByCalvin
Hello,

My name is Calvin and I recently got into growing carnivorous plants. Especially the Venus Fly Trap. I purchased a cheap one from a home improvement store about a month and a half ago. Unfortunately it is starting to look somewhat sick. There is a chance that it is going into hibernation, but as a newbie, I am not entirely sure. The traps are peeled open and do not look like what most traps look like. They also refuse to trigger from any stimulus (anything from live insects to my finger). Attached are a couple photos of my VFT. Any information would be much appreciated. Thanks for your time and I am happy to get to know this community!

Calvin
MagicByCalvin
IMAG0282.jpg
IMAG0282.jpg (469.29 KiB) Viewed 4305 times
IMAG0278.jpg
IMAG0278.jpg (401.42 KiB) Viewed 4305 times
By darren4373
Hi MagicByCalvin,

i have also met these problem too.My was worst they refuse to grow new trap. I think this cause by lack of light,for me after i bought a LED growing light for them they soon produce new but small trap and able to catch for prey .It seem to get better.you can try my way hope it works for you.

darren4373
By jwbates26
It does look a little light starved. You can tell this my the long, broad, spindly leaf and small traps. The broad leafs help increase the surface area in which it collects light. We can help you out a little more if you tell us how you care for the plant and answer a few questions for us. How much and what type of light does it get? What type of water do you use to water your plant? It looks like you either just watered and misted your plant before the picture, but flytraps, for most new beginners, do better if kept a little drier until they know how to read their plant.