FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about terrariums, mini bogs, greenhouses and other growing environments

Moderator: Matt

By Arries
Hey everyone?Well im new to this and really want to set a terrarium up but have no clue where to begin?Is there a step by step site that i can visit?Im from South Africa and just got my plant?They are new to us so we don't have expert advice on them?plz help me!Thanx!
By manzano167
i wouldnt do a terr bc most likely they produce fungus and mold i keep my plant outsied with no terr but if you want to build a terr let hope some membes here with experience might tell u.
By moof
Terrarium are OK, but first we need to know what plants you want to keep inside.
By dionaea muscipula
good terr plants would be some lowland nepenthes as for VFT well they will do much better outside in full sunlight don worry if it gets really hot they can resist temps up to 100F
By Arries
Hey all thanx 4 the reply's?Uhm im looking at VFT,sundews and nepenthes?I have a VFT at the moment!I read that if u put fans in so that there is air movement then the fungus ect wil be very limited?Is this true?
By Matt
Hello Arries and welcome to flytrapcare!

For Dionaea and most sundews, they'll do better outside of the terrarium. Depending on the species of Nepenthes, it too might do better outside of the terrarium. What species of sundew and Nepenthes are you looking at?

Yes, fans will help minimize the fungus, but terrarium growing can be challenging even with a good setup. If this is your first time growing carnivorous plants, I'd recommend starting without a terrarium, learning how to care for the plants and then working towards getting a terrarium.
By Arries
Hi Matt.