FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Wills
Hello!

I'm relatively new to plants in general and I have a few questions! I'm from Sydney Australia and we are currently in our first few weeks of autumn.

I've read through much of the forums and the essentials for VFTs and have a few specific questions if you don't mind helping me =D
I bought a long pot tray thing and the VFTs are in pots themselves and they are in about 2cms of water. Here is a picture
http://www.flickr.com/photos/36689054@N06/3380860297/
The green one is called Snappy and the other two are both called Audrey Jr because I couldn’t think of anything else!

Anyways, is this a decent set up for them to grow? Should the tray be deeper? I read somewhere that the put itself should be almost fully submerged in water but that contradicts a few other suggestions I've read.

The plants themselves sit near the windowsill most of the day and the sun shines right into my room so it gets enough sunlight. I catch bugs for it like little crickets and flies but for some reason my room has been invaded by crickets lately (hopefully they can catch some yay). I plan to leave the plant outside a few days a week during the day so they can catch a healthy amount of bugs.

I use distilled water from a Brita water distiller (those jugs that you pour tap water into and its supposed to purify it) but I've been told that this isn’t the best way to water it. Anyone in Australia know where I can buy water specifically for my new plants?

The VTP came potted so I don’t think I need to worry about the media for now.

Any suggestions about what else I can do?

Thank you in advanced I feel proud to be a part of this community now (if only because I own some VTP and shown some interest in them).

AND! I've just noticed I posted this in the wrong section, apologies!
By datter