FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By sunnysly
Hi all. I am new to growing venus flytraps, and I think I am getting a little better. Hoping to propogate my venus flytraps by either rhizome division in the coming months before I put them into refrigerator dormancy.

I will attach photos of my current flytraps. I bought one from Joel's carniverous plants on Amazon, and one I rescued from the Wal-Mart death trap tubes that they sell.

Here is the artificial light I am using (which is touted as "full spectrum" photosynthetically active light). The manufacturer of this light I believe tells me to place the light about 35 to 45 cm above the plant for best growth (which I have found actually doesn't work). This light https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08HQ3DPND?ps ... ct_details I bought as a recommendation of another venus flytrap website. I actually found it grows much taller when the light is closer. I also bought this (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08HPGLZHL?ps ... ct_details) to see how much PAR my plant is getting per second (micromoles/second/m2 I think).

My question is can I force these plants to flower at a certain PPFD of broad spectrum light. According to this website, in the Carolinas the flytrap seems to flower in the spring months (so I am guessing March to June) and the DLI in the Carolinas at that time appears to be anywhere from 22 to 30. So my guess is I need to get my plants to get that amount of DLI and they will flower?
Here is the link to websites talking about PPFD and venus flytraps and calculations specifically part 2 is best https://curiousplant.com/light-carnivor ... ts-part-2/

Does anyone know much about this? I feel like I am simply experimenting here. Attached some useful shots of websites I found helpful I think, the products I have been using in my experiments and the VFT themselves and light placement.
Attachments: