FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Moderator: Matt

By trooperkris
What I mean is I know that to grow your CP's correctly, you have to either grow them in:
long fibred sphagnum moss
peat and perlite mixed

But where I have a few questions is here:
1. Is there any difference in the growth rate of CP's that were grown in a medium with the peat/perlite mix, in comparison to a CP that was grown in just long fibred sphagnum moss? I was just curious, because it seems so much easier to just plant them in pure long fibred sphagnum moss, than taking the time to get a pretty much even mixture of peat and perlite. (sorry if I sound lazy or unmotivated, but im a college student, so my spare time is precious. lol :/ )

2. Would anything (bad or good) happen if one was to plant a cp in a medium combining all 3 materials (peat, perlite, and lfs moss)? Just for curiosity's sake.

3. Is it possible to purchase a peat/perlite mix anywhere, like in a store (not online) where it is already mixed for you, or would you have to buy both and mix them manually? The reason i'm asking, is because I am the worst at measuring stuff out, and I wouldn't want to accidently put too much of one or the other in the mixture, and end up damaging my plants.
By mnwatson1
Lfsm, in my opinion, promotes better root growth and health because it's so airy. It does, however, dry out much quicker, and I recently repotted my Drosera capensis because it wasn't doing as well in the lfsm: smaller pot than my other plants, thus harder to keep wet enough for its preferences. It didn't suffer any growth problems, just stopped producing much dew. So it went back to the peat/sand mix as of Tuesday. Otherwise I much prefer the lfsm, but others prefer the peat mix. Last year I had a few sarracenia purpureas in the peat mix and some in lfsm. The ones in the moss had MUCH stronger, longer root systems.

Sent from my XT901 using Tapatalk
mnwatson1 liked this
By parker679