FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Talk about anything you want in this forum.

Moderator: Matt

By Neogeoflykiller
Hi i was wondering if it's alright to water my new plants using water from the water purifier i have in the fridge?

If not what is the difference between distilled and purified, sorry but i'm just getting started and i want to give my plants the best chance.
How and where do i get distilled water?

Is winter time generally the dormancy period, and do i just put them in the shade eg. inside my place for 3 months or so!

I'm so glad that you guys are so into the plants you have created a sight.

Thank you.
By kittyklaws
I'm no expert but I do know you can get distilled water at a grocery store. I've heard from some people that water out of a purifier is fine, but others have contradicted. I'd go with distilled water though just to be safe. :D Sorry I'm not much help. Good luck finding answers to your other questions. I'm as clueless as you are. :lol:
By Matt
Neogeoflykiller wrote:If not what is the difference between distilled and purified
Distilled water is made from the process of collecting the steam of boiled water. The minerals in the water are to heavy to rise with the steam, so the water is pure water (no minerals or other contaminants).

"Purified water" is a pretty loose term which doesn't really tell you much about what the quality of the water is. Typically the minerals that make the water taste bad are removed, leaving behind the other minerals, which are bad for your plants.
Neogeoflykiller wrote:How and where do i get distilled water?
As Kelly said, you can get distilled water at any grocery or department store. It's less than $1 a gallon.
Neogeoflykiller wrote:Is winter time generally the dormancy period, and do i just put them in the shade eg. inside my place for 3 months or so!