FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By FlyTrapFanatic
I'm a bit new to owning Venus fly traps. I got mine at the pet store for $14.99. You're probably thinking "What?? At a pet store?" I'm thinking the same thing. They were literally just selling them at the counter.

Ok so after a week of my traps not catching any food what I tried was lightly dotting tiny amounts of honey (just regular grocery store honey) along the fly trap's "teeth" and outer mouth. I'm doing this to see if it might further attract insects. I think it has, because so far 2 traps have caught some bugs in them. I don't really think this is dangerous for the plant, right? It's just honey.

Has anyone tried this before or is this just me?
By sbrooks
Welcome to the forum!
If you are anything like me, you will not be able to get enough of this marvelous plant. It is so cool to watch the traps catch prey, especially on their own!
But it's really not necessary to force the issue; One or two bugs a month is a sufficient nitrogen boost for a plant; they certainly often catch more on their own, but I'm assuming that it hadn't eaten in awhile before you acquired it, being in a pet store (probably encased in plastic?) so the two bugs it has already eaten will take a lot of the plant's energy to digest, which could already be depleted from poor growing conditions at said pet store. My suggestion would be to not feed it anymore for awhile; the plant looks a lot cooler when the traps are open, and they tend to color up more and last longer before dying if they are not triggered/fed a lot.
As far as the honey and sugar goes, it hay damage the plant, certainly promote growth of fungus, mold, or harmful bacteria.
If you really want to force the issue, though, you could place something rotten/funky by the plant; it will at least get some flying scavengers in the vicinity.