FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By x-laura-c-x
Hello everyone! :)

The name's Laura, and I'm a total beginner to growing and caring for VFTs. I received a starter pack for these fantastic plants (as well as some Pitchers) not too long ago, and I'm aiming to begin planting for the new year! I'm very excited!

I came across this website after Googling for VFT care; it's exactly what I'm looking for, and I thought these boards would be fantastic to be a member of. I'm going shopping tomorrow and I'm aiming to get whatever's necessary to have my plants off to the best start! I'm a little worried about growing my VFT outside, seeing as it's very cold here so I was thinking about artificial lighting but I'll need to see if I can find anything tomorrow that's a reasonable price! The starter pack I've been given has Coir pots and compost with it, but I'm going to see about getting my hands on some peat moss and perlite for transplanting later on.

Any tips and suggestions for a complete starter would be highly appreciated! :D
By thebigfelly
Another Scot :D welcome to the forum, where i am right now its freezin' and a know Aberdeen's alot worse so aye dont grow them outside gettin' some lights is your best bet am a newbie to but am sure am right in what am sayin' others will help you better :)

Paddy.
By Aging_Bourbon
Hello Laura welcome to flytrapcare!

What kinda pitcher plants are you referring too?
I'm pretty sure that you're VFT will be okay doing to the fact that they should be in dormancy around this time. just wondering what kinda Temps do you have there the Highs and Lows. If you have any questions feel free to ask!
By x-laura-c-x
Thanks both of you for the welcome! :)

allenc666 - I think the sachet of pitcher seeds that I've been given is a mixture of Sarracenia. I don't know exactly which species of Pitcher there is in the pack, though.