FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss fertilization techniques here. For advanced growers only!

Moderator: Matt

By victor
Okay this is my first time posting something in this subject.
But how do you fertilize a mexican ping and a nepenthes.
Also, those that live in the U.S. what brands do you guys use?
By Eric
I use Maxsea 16-16-16 fertilizer. It works great! Just mix one teaspoon with a gallon of water and apply it directly to the soil. You can use it on any carnivorous plant, just not the queensland sundews.
By HarrisAz
isnt the Maxsea bad for soil spraying?

i read there that theres urea in the fert.is it still ok?
By Matt
HarrisAz wrote:isnt the Maxsea bad for soil spraying?
I use it on my Sarracenia, Heliamphora and Cephalotus and they respond very well to it. I've not tried it on flytraps or any other species. But it does cause severe algae blooms.
HarrisAz wrote:i read there that theres urea in the fert.is it still ok?
Yes, Maxsea has urea, but it seems to be fine with the plants...at least at the concentration of 1 teaspoon per gallon.
Matt liked this
By HarrisAz
woah!!
that sounds cool!

Do you flush the media after u spray/pour onto the soil?

Victor,i've been fertilizing my nepenthes with an Orchid fertilizer(Orchid Focus Grow)which has high level of nitrogen once a month to a pitcher and it seems to grow bigger pitchers afterwards seriously :D
By victor
HarrisAz wrote:
Victor,i've been fertilizing my nepenthes with an Orchid fertilizer(Orchid Focus Grow)which has high level of nitrogen once a month to a pitcher and it seems to grow bigger pitchers afterwards seriously :D
How much per gallon of water do you put?
By victor
Also, is there any specific brand you guys use for mexican pings. Please also say how much per _______ water
you put.
By Eric