FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By bean_plant
After realizing the gnats in my plant were fungus gnats I changed the moss to get rid of the pesky things. Once I changed it my vft seemed to be doing fine but a few days later all her traps are hanging over the side. I used pure sphagnum moss and I usually water with distilled water but because I'm new to this I forgot and accidentally watered with tap water, is that the issue or is something else going on?
Attachments:
^2CD5A5F7CDF4C777FED5EEC43851549B731EACBF2E98643AB6^pimgpsh_thumbnail_win_distr.jpg
^2CD5A5F7CDF4C777FED5EEC43851549B731EACBF2E98643AB6^pimgpsh_thumbnail_win_distr.jpg (7.49 KiB) Viewed 3917 times
^14C93D3E4BF9719EF18607BCD5A9866E96453D7CAE82EECA33^pimgpsh_thumbnail_win_distr.jpg
^14C93D3E4BF9719EF18607BCD5A9866E96453D7CAE82EECA33^pimgpsh_thumbnail_win_distr.jpg (6.95 KiB) Viewed 3917 times
^4E7B42EB02F9A21C65B3197B2D1016609CB2FAE650B03B05B8^pimgpsh_thumbnail_win_distr.jpg
^4E7B42EB02F9A21C65B3197B2D1016609CB2FAE650B03B05B8^pimgpsh_thumbnail_win_distr.jpg (8.54 KiB) Viewed 3917 times
By Fieldofscreams
Fungus knats are harmless, you caused more stress to the plant by repotting it than the knats ever would, to make matters worse you will end up with fungus knats again anyways.

One of two things could be happening, you repotted it and are growing it in a window stressed it out OR its going dormant.

These plants need to be outside.
By bean_plant
Fieldofscreams wrote:Fungus knats are harmless, you caused more stress to the plant by repotting it than the knats ever would, to make matters worse you will end up with fungus knats again anyways.

One of two things could be happening, you repotted it and are growing it in a window stressed it out OR its going dormant.

These plants need to be outside.