FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By blams
Judith hindle and vft.

Are these ok to keep here until the spring ?

Should I not be putting any water in the top at all? Each pot only has a single hole in the bottom

This is my first time trying to keep them through the winter. Will they appear dead?
ImageImage

Sent from my SM-N986U using Tapatalk
By Panman
Is that first pot unglazed? That will cause problems long term. The same with the second pot. Of the unglazed portion is in contact with water it can leach chemicals into the soil.

As for water, just reduce the amount in the tray to 1/2 an inch or so. Just enough to keep the soil surface damp. Is that a heated space? What kind of temperatures will they be getting?
By blams
Panman wrote:Is that first pot unglazed? That will cause problems long term. The same with the second pot. Of the unglazed portion is in contact with water it can leach chemicals into the soil.

As for water, just reduce the amount in the tray to 1/2 an inch or so. Just enough to keep the soil surface damp. Is that a heated space? What kind of temperatures will they be getting?
Its in my house in the basement so generally 65-70 degrees I'd guess on average

The vft pot is glazed i believe, the pitcher plant pot is not glazed

By Panman
You will want to repot the pitcher. The unglazed pot will cause damage in the long run. I think that light levels are as important as temperature for dormancy, but I am not sure. Is there any place that you get it into an unheated area? Garage, shed?
By blams
Panman wrote:You will want to repot the pitcher. The unglazed pot will cause damage in the long run. I think that light levels are as important as temperature for dormancy, but I am not sure. Is there any place that you get it into an unheated area? Garage, shed?
Its plenty light where they are so that's good.