FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions on how to propagate your plants sexually and asexually, by seed, natural division or leaf pulling

Moderator: Matt

By Grey
Hello everyone,

With this being the second time I've germinated seed, I have a few concerns as I'm still learning. My venus fly trap seedlings are a couple of weeks old and are starting to shed their seed casing however I've noticed the casing has started to become mouldy. Is this normal? It doesn't seem it. The seedlings look healthy apart from this.

If it isn't normal, what can be done? Should I gently try to remove the casing? The best way I can describe the mould is like dust, only I do not believe it is dust (I know moisture attracts dust). Can I "clean" the seed casing using a cotton bud dipped in pure water?

I am a little worried, but because the seedlings look healthy otherwise I hope it is nothing.

Thank you for your time.
By Steve_D
Mold or fungal growth is fairly common, but it is often not desirable. Usually fresh air movement and a growing-medium surface that is moist but not too moist prevents it, and a fungicide can kill it.

How are you germinating your seedlings? If you live in a humid environment, a cover on a germination container may not be necessary, and may keep the air inside too humid, promoting fungal growth. Even in dry climates (such as mine) I need to lift the lid of the germination container and fan the air once or twice per day to get some fresh air inside and fan out any accumulating fungal spores, which can become concentrated in an enclosed space.
By Grey
The seeds are in a propagator and the vents are always open. I check the seeds twice a day by removing the plastic cover and allowing fresh air to pass over them. The seedlings are in moist soil (I check it regularly and stop watering if it becomes too moist).