FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By Orit
I bought some fly attractant earlier this year and my plants absolutely feasted. I keep raving about it here so I figured I'd just show you guys the results. FTS Flaming Lips has been by far my most successful hunter. I don't know if it's the color or the sheer size of it, but the flies absolutely love this plant.

For the record, this is a "starter size" plant purchased in mid March.... Maybe one of the many divisions is starter size in reality! Easily one of my favorites, though I love them all.

I lost count around two dozen flies eaten by Flaming Lips alone in the past few months. I am a noob grower still figuring things out, and the steady food supply has really helped me out!
Attachments:
Screenshot_2017-07-07-22-34-22.png
Screenshot_2017-07-07-22-34-22.png (1.35 MiB) Viewed 4405 times
By Orit
If anyone wants to try it out, this is Rescue Fly Trap Attractant used for plastic fly traps, but I think any fly trap attractant works well. I just mixed some with water in a small container (that I eventually threw away because dozens of flies had drowned themselves in it). Any plant next to it will eat very well. DC XL had every trap occupied within a day or two. I thought it well worth the $5. :)
By boggyboy72
How bad does it smell?Would I want it on the back deck?

I put a watermelon rind from the 4th out by my plants.It drew some regular flies but mostly fruit flies.

My drosera had quite the feast. :)
By Orit