FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By Lovebrug
Hi John here,

I've been growing Nepenthes (low land) types for a few years and have decided to dive more into the hobby and add VFT's to the obsession. As a reef tank and seahorse hobbyist for sure have a good RODI unit so pure water is no problem . My delima is where would be the best place to grow my soon to arrive VFT's . Considering my pool patio area (full sun) that has a screened enclosure and from my understanding regular window screen blocks about 10% of sunlight so that may be a good thing here in NE Florida with Summer temps that can be in the upper 90's ? My other concern is that there is no way I can do the tray method with the downpours we get here , must VFT's stand in water ? Humidity is no problem as my house backs up to natural wetlands and then the Saint Johns river (it's wet here) . Sorry for all the questions . I'm guessing without the the tray method I will need to water in the summer days without rain two or more times a day ?

John
By Matt
Lovebrug wrote:Considering my pool patio area (full sun) that has a screened enclosure and from my understanding regular window screen blocks about 10% of sunlight so that may be a good thing here in NE Florida with Summer temps that can be in the upper 90's ?
Yeah, the shade cloth will probably be a good thing with that intense heat.
Lovebrug wrote:My other concern is that there is no way I can do the tray method with the downpours we get here , must VFT's stand in water ?
No. In fact, they do better if they're not left standing in water all the time.
Lovebrug wrote:I'm guessing without the the tray method I will need to water in the summer days without rain two or more times a day ?