FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Nepenthes plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Bicyclemaster
I just got some new plants, n. Briggsiana, n. Macfarlanai, n. Gentle and n. Mojito.

I was wondering if the 15W growbulb from sansi would be enough for 5 nepenthes and a few drosera. They are all in max 10cm pots and I can fit all of them in a 40 cm² area. Righ5now they've all acclimating with bags on them, under a random light that I have, which gives them around 2k lux.

The 15W should give them about 7k lux if it's 30cm (1ft) above them, so I think it's enough.

The droseras are a capensis and 2 plants they gave me for free: an andromeda and prolifera.

I also have a small humidifier running non stop next to the plants. Could this damage the bulb? I've heard that they're not that water resistant.
By Intheswamp
I'm no expert, but I'll throw my thoughts out anyhow. :mrgreen:

My thinking is that neps do not need crazy bright lighting. It seems that diffused window light works well for them and overly bright light can hurt them...? Do you have a window situated that you could use for the nepenthes? On the other hand, the drosera will do well beneath bright light. The light strength will be stronger in the center and will fall off toward the edges...I would put the drosera in the center and the neps around the perimeter.

Determining light requirements from specs seem to be problematic for me in that there's lots of info out there on plant needs and on how to calculate the light. I use this website a bit for figuring my lighting. I *think* it's a fairly accurate website in regards to the lighting articles. This is the page I use the most, "Part 2", but the previous part, "Part-1" preps you a bit for it.
++++++++++++++