FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss water requirements, "soil" (growing media) and suitable planting containers

Moderator: Matt

By zha
Guys, I'm a complete noob. I've come into possession of some venus fly trap seeds, and I'd very much like to not kill them. One thing that everyone seems to agree on is that venus fly traps want water with as little mineral content as possible. Unfortunately, I have absolutely no idea how to acquire this. Whenever I've found distilled water in stores, it always seems to have a bunch of minerals re-added afterwards. Are there specific brands or store chains that will sell me the appropriately de-mineralized water? Do I need to buy a big fancy expensive distillery setup and make my own? In short, how does this *work*?
By Shadowtski
First of all, Welcome to the Forum!

Many growers use rain water and collect it from their roofs.

I buy it as Steam Distilled Water in a large grocery store chain, Pick & Save, owned by Roundy's
It is usually not used as drinking water. It is commonly used for ironing, baby formula, automotive batteries and other purposes.

Some people install a special filter system called a Reverse Osmosis Filter that gets your tap water adequately pure.

Where are you located?
I'm near Milwaukee, Wisconsin in the USA.

Good growing,
Mike
By Hungry Plants
As Mike said. I use rainwater when I can. When I'm out I go to the store and get some distilled water for like .89 cents a gallon.
By zha
Hi Mike! Thanks for your quick and informative reply!

I'm located near Vancouver BC, in Canada. We get plenty of rain here, but I live in an appartment building so I don't really have an easy way to collect it. (Relatedly, I'm also a bit concerned about getting my plants adequate light since all my windows are north-facing and it's overcast here for the great majority of the year. I may need to invest in some indoor lighting at some point...)