FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By BriGuy
Hi, my name is Brian, and I'm just getting into Venus Fly Traps. I have three pots, with three plants in each. I have had them for about a week. I bought six plants from Fry's grocery store and three from HD. I also ordered two starter plant cultivars online from this website that I am hoping to receive in the next couple of day's.

Fry's plants #1

Fry's plants #2

Home Depot plants

The plants from HD seem a lot smaller but more numerous. Also some of the traps seem deformed or will not close. Any thoughts?

I am keeping my plant's out side in full sun. It still gets into the 80's during the day and is in the 50's-40's during the night here just north of Tucson AZ. I feel like the plants should start going into dormancy right about now but they don't seem to be. Should I maybe try and force dormancy or will the two months (Dec/Jan) when it actually gets cold here be enough for them? Also, what about the plants I ordered online? Should I not put them in out side sense it is Mid-November and will have probably started dormancy already. Any input or help would be much appreciated. I am fascinated by these plants and hope to be successful at growing them.

Thank You

Brian
By erikHIplants
BriGuy wrote:Hi, my name is Brian, and I'm just getting into Venus Fly Traps. I have three pots, with three plants in each. I have had them for about a week. I bought six plants from Fry's grocery store and three from HD. I also ordered two starter plant cultivars online from this website that I am hoping to receive in the next couple of day's.

Fry's plants #1

Fry's plants #2

Home Depot plants

The plants from HD seem a lot smaller but more numerous. Also some of the traps seem deformed or will not close. Any thoughts?