FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss water requirements, "soil" (growing media) and suitable planting containers

Moderator: Matt

By Straticus
Hello all, newbie here. Been following this forum for quite some time and figured it was time to join. I recently transplanted 3 VTF's into 16 oz foam cups as recommended here by so many. I poked roughly 5 holes in the bottom of each cup with a pencil, in a pattern, for bottom watering. I have them in a tray of water thats about 1/3 the size of the cup.

From what I've seen, the cups don't get very heavy, as if the soil inside of them is not absorbing the water very well from the bottom. It's made out of Perlite, and Moisture Retention Granules, Distilled Water filtered Pure Silica Sand, Natural Long Fibered Sphagnum Moss and Natural Organic Sphagnum Peat Moss. A mixture I obtained online which seems to be recommended.

I expected the cups to be much heavier after sitting in this water for a while, but it just doesn't seem to be soaking up the water. Should the diameter of the holes in the bottom of the cups be much larger? I can't imagine they should be, but not sure where else to go here. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
By paulsflytrap
hi there,
I myself use plastic bottles ,
but I also use extra sand " playground" sand in my peatmoss ,
I think just a little more sand than peat?
anyway it seems to give my plants a nice water irrigation
and a more sterile environment,
but as far as the holes go.. maybe just poke one or
two more on the side , just to give extra water flow,
hope this helps .
good growing to ya :)
By Earthy