FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about fluorescent, LED and other types of grow lighting for Venus Flytraps and other plants

Moderator: Matt

By tripoza
In the near future I'm planning to install grow shells in my hall. I have no experience in indoor growing so for the last few weeks I've been reading about different solutions people used to make their terrariums, grow racks etc...

I decided to go with the T5 HO tubes and give them a try...I've found few stores here in Croatia where I can get them but I also got a headache trying to figure out which ones are the best; lights in question are Osram Lumilux but they have so many models I got completely lost ((Seamless, Constant, XT, Energy Saver, De Luxe)...

According to what I've read, I asume I need lots of lumens and a color temperature of 6500K, right?

So the only model I found which is satisfying these numbers is Lumilux T5 HO Constant 80W, Cool Daylight http://www.osram.com...uctId=ZMP_60244

Why do people mix Cool White and Warm White? What is the purpose of having different light colors?

If i want to cover surface of one shelf which would be 145cm*40cm (145cm is the length of these lights), how many tubes do I need? And is this light I found good or do I need to find another?

And these 80W really sounds much, especially if I'm planning to have 4 shelves, but the lower the wattage the lower the lumens...Does someone have experience with these lights?What would you recommend?

The most important question would be, to make the long story short, would these linked lights be sufficient for one shelf area (sorry about cm - 145x35cm), i'd say 2 lights: one cool and one daylight ( in each model daylight has more lumens then warm white), or do i maybe need four ???

I'm just trying to clear everything out, because i will have my shelves custom made so i need to find out the exact dimensions according to lights and fixture i choose...
Ty in advance
By katya_dog1