FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By BigMouth
Hi all,

This is my first time posting in this forum and I am a new mom to 2 small sundews. I just got them 3 days ago and one of them, the Alice sundew, has lost almost all its dew within one day. I know there is a lot that my poor plant has to get used to when moving to a new environment, and I also just introduced a new light today (see specification below), so I'm hoping someone can help a newbie like me to figure out what my plant needs.

BEFORE PICTURE (when I first bought it): Image
AFTER PICTURE (taken from a different camera than the other pic--sorry it's a bit blurry): Image

Soil: Sorry, I'm not sure, it's just what I bought it with ... just look at the picture
Pot: 3.5 inches deep, 2.5x2.5 inches widthxlength
Light: daylight from a south-facing window covered with a sheer curtain. One day ago, I introduced a 23W (100W equivalent) compact florescent light bulb, 1500 lumens, 6500K. The bulb is just in a desk lamp facing the plants, about 6 inches from the Alice sundew, and it was on for 12 hours before I got home and noticed the lack of dew. I also created a little makeshift reflector to catch a bit of escaping light.
Temperature: I came home today (when I noticed the lack of dew), and it was really hot, about 85F
Water: distilled water, using a tray
Humidity: ~63%
And another thing is, I have a red cape too, and the red cape seems to be dealing with things a lot better than the Alice. My red cape still has dew (although not a lot), and the red cape also came with babies in its pot (from stray seeds) that have a bunch of dew and have visibly grown in the last 3 days.