FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Share photos of your Venus Fly Traps here.

Moderator: Matt

By Alex
I bought this on eBay and it claimed to be a B52. I'm no expert, so what do you guys think? I thought B52s were normally lower than that.
By bvalente
Alex wrote:Image
I bought this on eBay and it claimed to be a B52. I'm no expert, so what do you guys think? I thought B52s were normally lower than that.

Generally from what I've read, unless it is specifically named a B52 when you got it, chances are it is just a typical. Not saying typicals are less desirable than other cultivars, they have many characteristics and can take a life of their own and become very interesting. Named cultivars are an exact genetic match, obtained by leaf pullings or tissue cultures, they grow with the exact same characteristics as the clone plant.

I personally like getting typical VFT, you never know what characteristics it will have because each one is different, same goes for seed grown VFT. Cultivars you know what you're going to get and what to expect, they are still nice to have.
By Matt
If it came from a reputable seller and was labeled a B52, then it is likely a B52. But as bvalente said, if it wasn't specifically labeled or if there is any doubt about the origins of the plant, the flytrap should be considered a typical.
By Alex
The user was fingers001 http://www.ebay.com/usr/fingers001?_trk ... 1439.l2754

He has 100% positive feedback,and has sold many 'B52s' before. I hope it is in fact a B52. I don't know if this helps, but the traps are very dark red now. Thanks for the help!

Additionally, here's where I got it: http://www.ebay.com/itm/111380626018?ss ... 1439.l2649
By Alex
Awesome! Thanks for the help. :) I wasn't too sure because like I originally said, the traps were so far from the ground. Will they eventually get lower? And how old do you think it is?
By Matt