FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By LAKJP
I will soon order some VFT's, and I'd like to get suggestions for green-leafed and red-leafed flytraps. Personally, I don't really thrive over the ones that are below the average in size (diameter). If possible, I'd also like to know if they are good seeders or not.

Thank you.
By Matt
Hello and welcome to FlytrapCare!
LAKJP wrote:I will soon order some VFT's
From where are you planning to order the flytraps? A list of available varieties, or perhaps a list of some of the ones you're most interested in, would help us make suggestions. There are plenty of giant flytraps available :)
By LAKJP
As I live in Canada, I will order from Keehn's Carnivores. It is my first time ordering VFT, so I don't know much about them and that's why I'd like some suggestions with some description.
By LAKJP
Oh! and what is the idealistic pot height for growing Venus Flytraps in order to maximize their growth?
By Cthulhu
All flytraps require the same care so it basically boils down to what you're looking for in a plant... if you're looking for large traps, the B52 produces among the largest.. it grows well and mine has been quite hardy. If you're looking for red, I own a Red Dragon (Akai Ryu) and it's quite lovely to look at but it's probably my least favorite in my collection.. It's a bit more needy under my growing conditions (both indoors under grow lights and outside).

Honestly, I would just pick the one/s that you like the best and go from there. :)

As for the care questions, you can find all the info to growing right here :)
Light and Venus Fly Traps
Water for Venus Fly Traps
Soil for Venus Fly Traps
Venus Fly Trap Dormancy
By LAKJP
I've finally decided to order for...
green-leafed : B-52, Sawtooth and Low Giant
red-leafed : Giant Red and Red Piranha TC Mutant