FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Pinguicula care here

Moderator: Matt

By thatonechick371
I just got these guys a few days ago. I lightly placed them into a shallow hole i made with my finger and gently tried to cover the roots a bit. The growing medium is sand, some peat moss and perlite. The leaves may have got wet a bit, and maybe thats why they are dying? They looked great when i got them, but in my care they just dont seem happy. Im new to pings and im worried these guys wont make it. Any advice?

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Update: this is what they look like 6 days later.

Last edited by thatonechick371 on Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
By Hungry Plants
Place them in a ziplock bag with some rain/distilled water at the bottom for a week or two. Open the bag little by little over a week or so after that till they get used to you conditions. They should be left in a tray of water after that. hope this helps
By thatonechick371
They are mexican pings, does that matter? I thought they didnt like being in high humidity/having their leaves wet?

By KategoricalKarnivore
They don't like the higher humidity but it will help with transplant/shipping stress. It's normal for a few leaves to turn brown and die after shipping. I usually put them in my terrarium with 90+ humidity for a week or so until I notice good new groth coming out of the center. Then they go on my grow rack at household humidity.
By slinx